We spent Friday at my grandparents’ house making applesauce. “We” includes 2 of my cousins, myself and my boys…and of course our grandparents. We tackled 6 bushels of apples. Here is part of the stack of apples:

Notice I said 6 bushels. Val had arrived early and was already tearing into the 2nd bushel when I arrived at 8 am.

Let me start out by apologizing for these pictures. I am not a photographer.

First, the apples need to be washed

Then, we used and apple corer/slicer to cut them. Here is Val slicing/coring the apples:

Look how fast she is, you can’t even see her hands. Haha!

Isaiah even did pretty well at this. Even though it made his momma a little nervous!

Here is Monica (check out her fun blog Quillquips) and Grandma slicing the apples once more and putting them in the pans to cook.

After the apples are cooked they are put through the strainer. Grandpa and the boys did most of the turning on the strainer.

Then the applesauce is poured into two larger containers where sugar is added and it is left to cool for a bit. And then it’s put into containers to be frozen to enjoy until next fall (if it lasts that long).

We had a great day together. We were quite pooped by the end of the day, but it was great to see how much all of our hard work paid off. I think I ended up with approximately 36 quarts of applesauce.

We also took a break from applesauce to check out the produce auction that is just down the road from my grandparents’ house. That was great fun and we scored some awesome deals…more on that later.

P.S. These pictures are some of the worst I’ve taken in awhile…wonder what happened??

