I am sitting here this evening thinking about choices I have made in my life.

One of the choices I struggled with the most was whether or not to go to college. Of course, I felt I should since that is what most people do these days. However, I was uncertain about what I wanted to be, well, that’s not totally true. I knew I wanted to be a wife and mom.  I spent a lot of time my senior year in high school praying about this decision. When I shared with my mom that I really didn’t think college was what I wanted to do she suggested that I at least commit to one year and see how that year went. So, that’s what I did.

I spent one awesome year at Bethel College. I made some wonderful friends and am now married to one of those friends. I was challenged spiritually in new ways. However, I still struggled with what I would do. I prayed  a lot that year as well (just ask my roommate). Then, it was time to schedule classes for the next fall. What to do?

One evening in church about this time I remember breaking down (at the end of service). I don’t even remember the topic, I just know it really hit me. I may have even left the service a bit early because of the tears. My mom and another precious woman from church came and we all talked and prayed. I finally made the decision once and for all. I said it, “I’m not going back to college.” Wow! Those were some hard words to say, but at the same time so refreshing. I felt like a huge weight had been lifted from my shoulders. I also remember at some point during my time at Bethel I was talking to a friend about this and I remember her telling me that it was okay to want to be a wife and a mom.

Have I regretted the decision to attend Bethel? NO WAY! If I had not gone to Bethel that year I would not have met Dave. And no, we did not date until after I had left. I made some great friends, had some wonderful experiences that I wouldn’t trade for anything.

Have I regretted the decision to not return to college? NO WAY! I can honestly say that I have not regretted this decision. I had no clue what major I would choose and I didn’t want to go just to go (Bethel costs a bit too much to do that).  I have just the job I always wanted. Wife and mom. And just like any job there are good days and not-so-good days.

One of the other reasons I can look back on this decision without  regret is because a HUGE amount of prayer went into the decision. It was not made lightly without thought. I knew it could affect what I did later in life, but I was willing to risk it.  When we feel God calling us to take a step of faith that is what we need to do. Is it easy? Not usually…hence the faith part of it.

Last summer I spent 2 months working full-time and a few more working part-time. It was HORRIBLE. I missed being wife and mom. Oh, I still did those jobs too, just not in the way I was used to doing. It did help me appreciate that I have been able to stay home with my family and not be pulled by a job as well.

No matter the path we choose, we need to be in prayer and be certain that it is where God wants us to be. He will always, always provide if you are in His will. Psalm 37:4 says “Delight yourself in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart.”  He doesn’t want us to be unhappy with what we are given. If we choose to find our joy in Him, He will pour out His blessings upon us.

Let’s find joy, this week, in what we are doing. No matter how big or small the “job” may seem.

